sales-i

Log-in error

Some of our valued customers may have experienced an error logging in to sales-i on 14th February 2018 between 21:10 UTC (15:10 CT) and  23:10 UTC (17:10 CT).

 

What caused the error?

The issue was caused by human error by one of our service providers. An unapproved change was committed whilst updating security on the TLS (Transport Layer Security) service* that resulted in a drop for clients logging in with an older TLS 1.0 or 1.1 security connection.

(In a nutshell, an unplanned security update was applied which caused disruption to your service).

 

The solution:

When sales-i detected the incident we investigated the cause and implemented a fix to enforce all log-ins to be via SSL (Secure Sockets Layer) connections over TLS 1.2.

We are currently working with our service providers to ensure the correct process is in place to prevent such a situation occurring again.

(In a nutshell, our developers made sure a fix was in place for those unable to log in, and are working at making sure it doesn’t happen again).

 

*What is TLS (Transport Layer Security)?

TLS (Transport Layer Security) are cryptographic (security) protocols that provide communications securely over a computer network. Websites are able to use TLS to secure all communications between their servers and web browsers.